Català Castellano English Deutsche Deutsche
Geographical situation Territory and resources Active tourism Culture Gastronomy Accommodation Schedule of activities Recommendations Publications Quality
Cruïlles-Monells-Sant Sadurní de L'Heura

This municipality, one of the largest in Catalonia in surface area, is made up of the three nuclei that give it its name plus a number of small villages scattered around its territory.

Cruïlles conserves a cylindrical Romanesque tower as the last vestige of its castle: curiously, it is crowned by an olive tree. The profile of the nucleus is also dominated by the belltower of the parish church of Santa Eulàlia. A special mention should be made of the Romanesque-style Benedictine monastery of Sant Miquel de Cruïlles, of great cultural and patrimonial interest.

The nucleus of Sant Sadurní de l’Heura is formed by a series of long, narrow streets. The church is documented from the 11th C., but the present building is from the 18th. Nothing remains of the old castle, although the old square Romanesque belltower of the church probably formed part of its defences. A few kilometres from the village stands the small Romanesque chapel of Sant Joan de Salelles.

The Rissec stream divides the village of Monells into two neighbourhoods, named after the castle and the stream. The Castell district is a small urban nucleus focussed on the Main Square, which is largely porticoed. Little remains of the castle that used to stand on top of the hill, but there are very evident vestiges of the walls. In the Riera neighbourhood stands the Gothic parish church of Sant Genís.

The municipality also includes interesting old villages situated in the Gavarres hills, such as Santa Pellaia, Sant Cebrià dels Alls, Sant Cebrià de Lledó (els Metges), which it is recommended to visit by way of the signposted hiking routes.

> Begur > La Bisbal d'Empordà > Calonge-Sant Antoni > Castell-Platja d'Aro > Forallac > Mont-ras > Palafrugell > Palamós > Pals > Sant Feliu de Guíxols > Santa Cristina d'Aro > Torroella de Montgrí-L'Estartit > Albons > Bellcaire d'Empordà > Colomers > Corçà > Cruïlles-Monells-Sant Sadurní de L'Heura > Foixà > Fontanilles > Garrigoles > Gualta > Jafre > Palau-Sator > Parlavà > La Pera > Regencós > Rupià > Serra de Daró > La Tallada > Torrent > Ullà > Ullastret > Ultramort > Vall-Llobrega > Verges > Vilopriu
rutes GPS Baix Empordà
Més informació

Consell Comarcal del Baix Empordà
C/Tarongers, 12 · Tel. 972 642 310 · 17100 La Bisbal d'Empordà · - Google+
© 2006-2007 Consell Comarcal del Baix Empordà
disseny web comunicatek
Les actuacions en matèria de turisme actiu s′emmarquen en el projecte:

Integració i promoció de les xarxes d′itineraris turístics i del patrimoni de les comarques gironines

Amb el suport econòmic: